top of page

* Alex's Adventures in Disney *

Disney College Program, Spring 2015

Cheddar Biscuits & Wedding Bells!

Monday, March 2, 2015 I cannot believe that it is already March! My program is flying by, which is terribly sad..I don't even want to think about it. Today I had class in the morning as I do every morning and we had guest speakers that discussed work force planning and compensation. I knew before this class that that is not something I'm interested and those two hours definitely backed up that gut feeling. After that we ran to Walmart quickly because, well, food. Then Deanna, Hayley, and I went to EPCOT. EPCOT is the park that sucks up the most of our money because FOOD. We of course ate in the world showcase (France! ..because who doesn't love a cheese and bacon roll) and we all tried Hayley's caramel-ginger ice cream from China, which was actually amazing and something everyone needs to try. We also watched the video In France, which made me so anxious to try and study abroad or just travel abroad one day. I had never stopped to watch it before, but I now know that stop around the World Showcase is not one to miss! We also rode Spaceship Earth where we got stuck several times. Even though there's isn't much to Spaceship Earth, I think this ride is beautiful and I could sit in the planetary room all day if they let me! Later that night we met up with Rachel at DTD so we could bring Audrey her guest passes because her family is down this week! We got to meet them and she looks just like her momma and dad..and her and her brother have the same eyes too lol. They were all so nice. Also at DTD we had dinner at the food trucks and I had chicken and waffles for the first time and they were bangin'! They had a maple siracha sauce, which was amazing. (PSA: My dinner came from the MK food truck.). We of course ran threw some of the stores and found a real nice (but expensive) clothing store that we will most definitely be returning to and I finally bought something from Basin!

Our day ended with me baking some bacon-cheddar corn muffins with a maple icing. They didn't turn out too badly either. I think Betty Crocker would be proud of me, aha!

Tuesday, March 3, 2015 Dun dun da dahhh...Today is the day of the Spotlight on Disney's Fairytale Weddings in the Wedding Pavilion at The Grand Floridian. Hayley and I drove over, checked-in, and of course took pictures!

This session is run twice a year and you can sign up for it on the hub ahead of time. Even though they said that it was going to be career-guided, most of the talk surrounded advice they were given while getting into their jobs, how they got there, alternative job paths to getting on the wedding team, and the like. It was really interesting to hear about how each of them hot to where they are and what their different jobs consist of. I met with a few after and also met a girl, Jordan, who is going to Temple in the Fall! The rest of the rest of the day I spent doing laundry, taking a nap (which was much needed and the first on my program lol), cooking myself dinner, cleaning, and prepping dinner for tomorrow...which will be beef stew! I also ran to the Walgreens by Vista Way, which is only a few minutes from where the buses let off. And let me tell you, this Walgreens is so convenient! Not only does it have the normal drug store supplies, but it also has a small grocery section among other apartment necessities. Needless to say, I will be heading there more often so I can cut down on my Walmart visit, ahaha! I also got a chance to start the online portion of my CPR and AED training (which Disney is paying for!) and finally FaceTime Alissa and Rex from their new apartment! As much as I don't want to leave Florida, ever, it was nice to see faces from home. (: And then, I can't believe I'm saying this, Anna and I finally made our way to our complex's gym! It is literally the smallest gym ever with a total of 7 machines and some weights. Now Anna and I have no clue what to actually do in the gum so we were pretty thankful that at 10pm we were the only ones in there. And so ends my days off or this week. Back to work tomorrow!

Wednesday, March 4, 2015 Today did not start well. I thought my iPad was plugged in last night. It wasn't. As a result, I didn't have an alarm like usual, but got reallllyyy lucky and woke up on my own accord at 9:20! I got ready so quickly so I had time to make my lunch and finish getting the beef stew prepared or the crock pot. Somehow, I made it and got to the bus stop before the 10:40am A bus just like I wanted to make. But then I thought I forgot my nametag, and ever though I have an extra in my locker at work, I insisted on going back to the apartment to get it. Even after that excursion, I still got back to the bus stop in time for that same bus. But lo and behold, the Transtar world had other plans for me. When the bus pulled up, we waited the obligatory time in order to see if anyone would get off like every other bus driver makes you. But instead of us getting on the bus after waiting, the bus driver just drove away. He was literally at The Commons for less than 30 seconds! Today was clearly going brilliantly for me. So I had to wait for the next one. This whole situation reassured me that getting to the bus stop 2 hours before each of my shifts is very very good idea. This is my way of beating Transtar at it's own game! Work today was choppy and hectic even though it was a slower and very smooth shift. We were down a person or two and then 90% of the CPs working today were scheduled for a College Program meeting right when we opened for dinner. First of all, they didn't even feed us at this meeting...which is when our breaks normally were...and secondly, it was repeated information on the 4 Keys and some information on the Hub. This meeting was not fun. So when we got back, Meghan was real happy since we were over half of her hosts. We had to jump right back into work and most of us had our breaks pushes back until right before close. My break wasn't until 7:40pm instead of my usual 3pm. I honestly didn't mind, but because Meghan felt bad and saw how hard we worked to make everything go so smoothly today and no one complained about our altered and strange schedule for the day, she gave each of us a GSF card! (This makes 4 for me overall!) And we also got free bread! As happy as Aladdin was to get bread in his movie, that was the same feeling that the group of CPs had when HOH (heart of house) gave us the bread they were going to get rid of. Cheddar biscuits for allllll!!!

**GSF cards are Disney's "Guest Service Fanatic" cards, which are given out when you something real well that someone notices in relevance to the 4 Keys- Safety, Courtesy, Show, Efficiency- and can be given by anyone to anyone. Once you submit them, they show up on your record card, which looks great!** I got to end the night with dinner already made (my beef stew!) and with a movie in bed (Crazy, Stupid, Love).

SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.

© 2023 by NOMAD ON THE ROAD. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page