top of page

* Alex's Adventures in Disney *

Disney College Program, Spring 2015

I'VE OFFICIALLY BEEN ACCEPTED TO THE DCP!!!!!

I CANNOT BELIEVE IT!!!!!!! MSDFLJKBWLKASDB,DBCLASJFLakjehlkrfhelwfhwEWLUSHDFlkjfheljRDKJGLDSFKJGHAKRFHLAKSJFHLAKHkjhglkjhrlkdhKJFHGLR <3

I HAVE OFFICIALLY BEE ACCEPTED AS A SPRING 2015 DISNEY CAST MEMBER!!!!!!!

So, I was sitting in my seat 10 minutes before my second class of today on Friday (October 3, 2014). I was just wasting time on Facebook on my iPad when I got an email. As those of know who know how iPads work, I got the little push notification at the tops and the words "Disney College Program" and "recruiting" and "CONGRATULATIONS" caught me. I completely lost my breath momentarily. I was trying to tell myself to calm down and that it was probably just another random Disney email that was taunting me. Well of course I went to my email right away and there is was, my ACCEPTANCE EMAIL! It's so completely beautiful and it came at just the right time because I was slowly starting to lose hope since it's been 5 weeks exactly today. When you scroll down Disney outlines your next three steps and the first, "Review Offer and Indicate Acceptance" let me know that I was accepted for Full-Service Food & Bev for the Spring 2015 program, which was my prefered program. FSFB also happens to be one of my top 3 roles! It's definitely not serving, but who wouldn't want to host in DISNEY WORLD; THE HAPPIEST PLACE ON EARTH!?!

Admittedly, as soon as I opened the email I started crying, well, tearing up. I completely wanted to full-out bawl my eyes out because I was so happy, but that probably would've made me look absolutely mad! I ran out of the room to call my parents right away and it was soooo difficult to not just cry out of happiness since I had class in 5 minues, aha! I even though about trying to be sad and telling my parents that I wasn't accepted a first, but I was WAY too excited to play that out!

Well, needless to say, it was pretty much impossible to concentrate for the rest of the day. So I continued on, accepted my offer, paid fees, and then finally got to pick my dates, which are: JANUARY 26 - MAY 15!

Now, I should probably breakdown acceptance a little more for you, ready??

3-Step Process:

  1. When you're accepted, the congratulations email Disney sends you contains 3-steps at the bottom of the email. This first "Review Offer and Indicate Acceptance." You're going to follow their link, open your offer, and accept or decline your offer. You'll then wait for the next email before following through on step 2.

  2. The next step is to "Submit your Program Fees." Your program fees are broken down into two categories: $150 program assement fee for events and activities, $200 housing and administration fee that will be used for your beginning rent, and minimal processing fees. Warning, before you pay these fees, keep in mind that they are non-refundable! Make sure that everything is settled in with your school situation before paying a total of $354.50.

  • For WDW cast members, if you are planning on living outside of a Disney residence complex, know that firstly, Disney is not crazy about this idea. Secondly, still pay the full fee, including the $200 housing fee, and then when DORMS are released, you then have the opportunity to opt out of Disney-provided housing. After that, Disney will then refund your housing fee.

  1. The last step is to "Select your Program Dates." Once you follow that link, it'll lead you to the same program you used to pick your phone interview time. The current arrival dates listed are January 12, 19, and 26, as well as February 2 and 9. Not all those arrival dates are options for each role, and they seem to vary between people, so don't be too disappointed if the date you initally wanted isn't there, but there's a chance that will happen. I do know that you have the option to switch your dates after you initally pick them, but I don't know if there are any ramifications

After you submit your dates, they will appear on your dashboard in the "Registered/Upcoming" section in the bottom right-hand corner. Vista Way will be listed next to it because that's where check-in is, NOT because that's where you're living. You request that later.

Now that I'm officially set-up to be a Disney cast member, it's time for me to look for roommates...which is probably one of, if not the most, daunting part! I've now joined countless DCP Spring 2015 groups and I've been posting my roommate survey in them and talking to different girls that have commented on them. I've also been looking at others' surveys and commenting on them as well. I've been trying to type in certain key words into each page's search bar to see if it narrows down my search at all and it has helped a little thus far. I'll keep you all updated on my roommate finding progess!

But, until next time, Have a Magical Day!

-Alex

SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.

© 2023 by NOMAD ON THE ROAD. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page